# THE DOVER SOCIETY

## llth Annual General Meeting

### St Mary's Parish Centre, Monday April 19,1999 at 7.30 p.m. AGENDA

Resolutions and nominations for the election of officers and committee members shall be made in writing to the Honorary Secretary, Mr Leo Wright, "Beechwood", Green Lane, Temple Ewell, Dover CT16 3AR, by April 5th. Such nominations shall be supported by a seconder and the consent of the proposed nominee must first have been obtained

- 1 Apologies 2
  - Minutes of the 10th Annual General Meeting held April 27 1998 set out below.
- 3 Matters Arising
- 4 Chairman's Report 5 Treasurer's Report:
- 6.

7

- Election of Officers: the following are duly proposed by the Committee: -
  - Chairman Mr Jeremy Cope Vice Chairmen: Mr Derek Leach
  - - Mr Terry Sutton (also Press Secretary)
    - Secretary: Mr Leo Wright
  - Treasurer: Capt. M.H. Weston,
- Election of Committee: the following are duly proposed by the Committee. -Membership Secretary: Mrs Sheila Cope
  - Editor: Mrs Merril Lilley
  - Social Secretary: Mrs Joan Liggett
  - Chairman, Planning Committee: Mr Jack Woolford
  - Chairman, Projects Committee: Mr John Owen Archivist: Mr Budge Adams

  - Mrs Sybil Standing
    - Mr Mike McFarnell
  - The following are proposed by Mr Cope and seconded by Mr Wright Mrs Lesley Gordon
    - Mr Hugh Gordon
    - Dr Glyn Hale
- 8. Any Other Business

During the interval, at which refreshments will be served, members are invited to renew subscriptions and purchase raffle tickets. After the interval the meeting will be addressed by

> Jonathan Sloggett, Managing Director of Dover Harbour Board and a Vice President of the Society

### MINUTES OF THE TENTH ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING April 27 1998

APOLOGIES: Mr & Mrs B. Lilley: K. Lawson, Mrs P. Yeomans, Lt-Col & Mrs R. Bolton PRESENT: President and Mrs Atherton, Lady Mary Jarrett, former Officers Ken and Delysia Berry, Cllr and Mrs Newman, Dr Arthur Percival: Vice-Presidents Lillian Kay, Budge Adams, Peter Johnson, Terry Sutton, Philomena Kennedy Officers, Committee Members and 60 members.

MINUTES OF 9th AGM April 1997 in St Mary's Parish Hall were accepted as correct. There were no Matters Arising. 2

#### 3. Chairman's Report:

- a. Deceased Members: the meeting stood in tribute to former Cttee Member & Archivist Mike Sartin, Mrs V Goodburn, Mr F. Martin, Mrs J. Naylor, Mrs C. Stavely, Mrs J. Ullman.
- Committee Members retiring: Margaret Robson and Adrian Galley were thanked for their years of good service. Mrs Robson continues membership of the Planning Committee.
- c. Mr Woolford summarised the Society's first decade of achievements. PUBLIC & VISIBLE were involvement in ceremonial events like the Unknown Warrior and the Jarrett Memorial and projects such as beach and river cleans, pond reinstatement, signpost repainting and window displays. Press and radio reports and correspondence of praise or rebuke, the incomparable Newsletter, the successful publication of the Peverley Papers, Cruise Welcome volunteers and the social programme of talks, outings, entertainments, feasts, and liaison with French parallel organisations had continuously given the Society a high profile. In prospect were various undertakings to mark the Millennium from Granville Gardens to commemorative plaques on places such as the First Bomb and the Last Shell on Dover. No architectural awards had recently been made but one or two nominations were now in mind. The Society was also sponsoring a "Netball for All" goalpost.
- d. BEHIND THE SCENES the Society had also been productive in matters such as the Local Plan; the Alkham Valley road initiative; the proposed ski-lift to the Castle, the Castle car park and the Parade Ground; Noah's Ark and Castlemount; the location of the Miner's Statue, the proposed aerial masts at the Citadel and in River, the undesirability of a tea-room at Samphire Hoe, of an MFI at Whitfield, of razor wire on the Western Heigh or Public Art statues on the White Cliffs; and the desirability of cycle-ways in Dover.
- e. The Society was represented on the Planning and Town and Environment Committees of the Town Council and on the Town Centre Management Committee.
- f. The Society congratulated Dover Harbour Board on the success of the Cruise Liner Terminal, on De Bradelei Phase 2 and on the relocation of the Transport Museum, the rehabilitation of housing and the prospective leisure facilities at Old Park Barracks but was critical of the proposed additions to the Churchill Hotel. The Society also approved the demolition of the Admiralty Pier stairway but not of the Portal.
- g. The Society continued to advise the Government, notably on the co-ordination of transport policy and on the modernisation of local government.
- 5. Treasurer's Report: Mr Weston reported satisfactory balances.
- 6. Election of Officers: the following duly proposed by the Committee were elected: -
  - Chairman. Mr Jeremy Cope Vice-Chairman. Mr John Gerrard Secretary: Mr Leo Wright Treasurer: Capt. M H. Weston

Election of Committee: the following duly proposed by the Committee were elected

Membership Secretary: Mrs Sheila Cope

Editor: Mrs Merril Lilley Social Secretary: Mrs Joan Liggett

Chairman, Planning Committee: Mr Jack Woolford

Chairman, Projects Committee: Mr John Owen

Press Secretary: Mr Terry Sutton

Archivist: Mr Budge Adams

Mr Mike McFarnell

Mrs Jennifer Gerrard

Mrs Sybil Standing

Mr Derek Leach: proposed by Mr Gerrard, seconded by Mr Sutton

8. Any Other Business

After the interval for refreshment the meeting was addressed by ARTHUR PERCIVAL, MBE, MA, D.Litt, FSA, MSIBH on the subject of CONSERVATION FROM AUSTRALIA TO SINGAPORE VIA JAPAN.