DOVER KENT ARCHIVES

Page Updated:- Wednesday, 29 September, 2021.

PUB LIST PUBLIC HOUSES Paul Skelton

Earliest ????

Queen's Head

Open 2020+

Ashford Road

Kingsnorth

01233 620769

https://www.queenshead-kingsnorth.co.uk/

https://whatpub.com/queens-head

Queen's Head 1911

Above postcard, circa 1911, kindly sent by Rory Kehoe.

King's Head

Above photo, date unknown from Melvin Roy Bartholomew.

Above postcard, circa 1920 from Chris Cleave.

Queen's Head

Above postcard, date unknown from Melvin Roy Bartholomew.

King's Head

Above photo, date unknown from Melvin Roy Bartholomew.

Queen's Head

Above postcard, date unknown from Melvin Roy Bartholomew.

King's Head

Above photo, date unknown from Melvin Roy Bartholomew.

King's Head

Above photo, date unknown from Melvin Roy Bartholomew.

Queen's Head

Above photo, date unknown from Melvin Roy Bartholomew.

King's Head

Above photo, date unknown from Melvin Roy Bartholomew.

Queen's Head 1971

Above photo, 1971 from Melvin Roy Bartholomew.

Queen's Head

Above photo, date unknown from Melvin Roy Bartholomew.

Queen's Head 1997

Above photo 1997 by John Baker Creative Commons Licence.

Queen's Head 2014

Above photo 2014.

Queen's Head rear 2017

Above photo 2017 showing the rear or the pub, by Chris Excell.

Queen's Head sign 1991Queen's Head sign 2011

Above sign left, July 1991, sign right, 2011.

With thanks from Brian Curtis www.innsignsociety.com.

Queen's Head sign 2017

Above sign 2017.

 

The building is a 17th century Grade II listed building. Originally known as "New House" it probably changed name some time after Queen Victoria came to the throne on 20 June 1837.

Up to 1794 the land on which the "Queen’s Head" now stands formed part of East Kingsnorth hundred in the Royal Manor of Wye with the Lord of the manor residing at Eastwell Park, it was described in historical documents as ‘an area of unfenced wasteland upon which stood the common pound of East Kingsnorth.’

In April 1794 William Barten and his son William Richard Barten petitioned and obtained a license from the Lord of the Manor, George Finch Hatton Esq. to enclose and build premises on this area, provided they rebuild the common pound on other Manor wasteland immediately adjoining, within fourteen days.

This was done and by September 1794 present premises were erected, when the father gave his share to his son.

Both father and son were Victuallers and in 1806 the premises were sold to John Hodges, also a Victualler.

 

Kentish Chronicle 27 January 1866.

FAVERSHAM COUNTY COURT.

Denne Farmer, late landlord of the "Queen's Head Inn," Kingsnorth, and John Stephen Walter, of Charing, saddler, bankrupts, passed their first examination, and received their interim orders, supported by Mr, J, D. Norwood. Farmer's debts amounted to 120, and Walter's to 102 18s, There were no assets in either case.

 

From the Maidstone and Kentish Journal, 1 April, 1867.

Kingsnorth Vestry Meeting.

The annual vestry meeting was held at the "Queens Head Inn," on Wednesday. Mr. T. Baker was elected way-warden; Mr. D. G. Swaffer, guardian; Mr. George Godden and Mr. Jeremiah Washford, overseers; Mr. George Maplesden, assistant overseer and collector; and Mr. George Maplesden and Mr. Joseph Godde, assessors. A poor rate of 1s. 9d. in the pound was made.

 

From the https://www.kentlive.news

The most brutal TripAdvisor comebacks from Kent pub and restaurant managers.

Customers leave some harsh reviews but owners have hit back at their comments and in some cases the responses are ruthless.

TripAdvisor is the first port of call for many of us when deciding where to eat.

Finding out how well rated a restaurant or pub is and what sort of reviews it has can help make up your mind.

Some unhappy customers leave extremely harsh responses - so it's understandable that owners are keen to respond to the criticism and put the record straight.

Many owners take a considered approach, copy and pasting a standard reply, apologising if the service was below par and inviting them to send a proper email across.

Others aren't quite so measured and prefer to fire back from the hip.

Take a look below at some of the stronger responses from Kent venues.

'Impotent, insecure misogynists'

The Queen's Head pub in Ashford is run by Julian and Wendy.

I can tell you now, Julian takes no nonsense.

One reviewer posted an abusive message about the landlady after an eventful evening at the pub.

It turns out that group is now barred for life and had the police called on them.

Foul mouthed crazy landlady

I visited the pub for a Christmas drink with some friends last night and the landlady came down from upstairs shouting F###ing people outside in the street swearing. What a vile woman!

Her husband who was clearly petrified of the drunk bint looked in shock and embarassed. Poor bloke, having to put up with that.

Its such a shame because it used to be such a nice pub when Dell had it.

JulianF1259, Owner at The Queens Head Public House, responded to this review

Responded 2 January 2019.

Hahahahaha!!!! oh you were not in Christmas Day, you and your friends were in Christmas Eve when I barred you for life!, chanting the C*** word. YOU upset MANY of our customers with your foul language. The result.... I called the police, you soon scattered then didn't you! Because..... of one you was a SERVING police officer! Your departing words, following the threats to beat me up and smash our pub up, was destroy us on social media and threaten us with a local sports journalist...…. Ummm and? You are very lucky you were only told to eff off. Impotent, insecure misogynists, we are team, we fully support each other. Oh and for the record the C*** word is totally unacceptable in this pub!!!!

'We are not servants'

This customer was unhappy with having to wait to be served.

Needless to say Julian was having none of it.

Ignored by landlady.

We only live a few hundred yards from the Queens Head but haven't been there for a few years. We thought we would give it a try so we walked 10 minutes to it this afternoon. We went straight to the bar about a metre from where the landlady was standing talking to someone who I guess was a regular. I had money in my hand so obviously waiting to be served, and anyway, the entrance door was right in front of her too. Totally ignored! The landlord was serving someone and there was another customer waiting who had entered the bar in front of us. Despite standing the other side of where the landlady was, he too was ignored by her. Tried not to believe some of the reviews about rudeness but proved correct in our experience so never again. Back to our regular for us, even though it's not within walking distance.

JulianF1259, Owner at The Queens Head Public House, responded to this review.

Responded 2 January 2019.

Well what can I say.... I simply CANNOT be everything to everyone and be at every persons beck and call!!! I am NOT rude and I do NOT ignore people. I cannot be everywhere!! I am not sorry you did not feel you got the totally personal service you expect, but I would say next time why not try being polite and not rude.....maybe you would be served in due course. Have you not considered other people were waiting? I highly doubt it. And congratulations on walking whole 10 minutes to get here. We provide a service, we are not servants. Give my love to your dog :-)

'We have sent him on a cheerfulness course'

This unhappy punter was disappointed not to be greeted with a smile.

Julian promises he's working on it.

Reviewed 3 April 2018

Made to feel like an inconvenience.

Never greeted with a smile and made to feel like an inconvenience for being in the place. Asked to leave in an unnecessarily rude manner after last orders when we still had half a drink. Used to visit regularly for food (which can be good) but won't be returning. Bar staff are fine but it's the Landlord who is the problem.

Julian F, Owner at The Queens Head Public House, responded to this review

Responded 7 August 2018
You are right HP137. We have sent him on a Cheerfulness Course. Hopefully you will see the new smily landlord next time you visit!

'As for the lack of choice, which of the 14 drafts and 6 bottled ales didn't appeal?

Another customer was displeased by their welcome and hit out at the overpriced selection.

I don't think Julian is going to lose too much sleep over it, though.

Reviewed 25 July 2018 via mobile

Landlady

The landlady is very unwelcoming don’t smile and is rude. Beer is overpriced and don’t have a very good selection won’t be returning.

Julian F, Owner at The Queens Head Public House, responded to this review

Responded 7 August 2018

Hi liketogoinpubs1, are you sure you are talking about the landlady? I know the landlord can be a grumpy so and so but Wendy is always smiling and having a joke with the customers! She might be rude to Julian sometimes but never the customers ;-) And as for the lack of choice of beers, which of the 14 drafts and 6 bottled ales didn't appeal? We could add more but we'd have to build a bigger bar :-) I'm sorry we can't compete with Mr Weatherspoon and his prices but as a small independent pub we are at the whims of the brewery, the chancellor and his beer duty and the local authority rates. We try and keep our beer prices as low as possible, maybe you could start a gofundme page to help us lol Wendy and Julian.

It's fair to say a lot of the responses are tongue in cheek.

 

LICENSEE LIST

BARTEN William Richard 1794+

HODGES John 1806+

HODGES John Jnr 1810+

GOBSON Charles 1837+

RUSSEL Thomas 1845+

LETROT Thomas 1850+

THOEBALD William 1851-61+ (age 57 in 1851Census)

FARMER Denne to Dec/65 Kentish Chronicle

KNOWLER Frederick Edward Dec/1865-1911+ (also blacksmith age 73 in 1911Census) Kelly's 1903

BALDOCK Frederick E 1918+

BUTTON George W 1933+

LITTLE Brian D 1938+

REYNOLDS T 1945+

WHITEHEAD Victoria F 1952+

SMITH George R 1968+

LARKINS Victor F 1973+

KILBEY Alan 1976+

BARRADELL Lesley Norman 1978+

WOOD Mike & Jenny 1984+

ESPOSITI Ercole & Christine 1989+

RUSSELL Gordon & Lisa 1994+

COOK Richard 1996+

HOLLAND Derek 1999+

FISHER Julian & Wendy Feb/2017+

 

Kelly's 1903From the Kelly's Directory 1903

Kentish ChronicleKentish Chronicle

 

If anyone should have any further information, or indeed any pictures or photographs of the above licensed premises, please email:-

TOP Valid CSS Valid XTHML

 

LINK to www.pubwiki.co.uk